First Silver Slugger DH

Picture of a BaseballTrivia Question

Who was the first designated hitter (DH) to receive baseball’s Silver Slugger award?

Trivia Question Answer

The designated hitter (DH) has been around in the American League since 1973. The Silver Slugger awards were instituted in 1980, thus the first DHs could not win the award. The first DH to win the Silver Slugger for the DH position in 1980 was “Mr. October”, Reggie Jackson of the New York Yankees.

First Nationally Televised Kentucky Derby

Picture of a Horse SilhouetteTrivia Question

When was the first nationally televised Kentucky Derby?

Trivia Question Answer

CBS first nationally televised the Kentucky Derby in 1952. Hill Gail ridden by Eddie Arcaro was the winner of the 1952 race.

Texas Rangers Founded As

Picture of a BaseballTrivia Question

When and where were the Texas Rangers founded and what was their original name?

Trivia Question Answer

The Texas Rangers were founded in Washington DC in 1961 as the Washington Senators. They moved to Texas and became the Rangers in 1972.

How to Calculate ERA

Picture of a BaseballTrivia Question

How is earned run average (ERA) calculated for professional baseball?

Trivia Question Answer

The equation for ERA is quite simple:

ERA = (Earned Runs/Innings Pitched) x 9

For those parents out there who may wish to do the calculation for their little leaguers where games are typically 7 innings in length the equation would be modified to: ERA = (Earned Runs/Innings Pitched) x 7

First Points Scored in Super Bowl History

Picture of a FootballTrivial Question

What were the first points scored in Super Bowl history?

Trivia Question Answer

The first points scored in Super Bowl I were on a 37-yard touchdown pass in the first quarter from Bart Starr to Max McGee, who had replaced injured starter Boyd Dowler. Don Chandler kicked the Super Bowl’s first extra point after the touchdown.

Pinstripe Bowl

Picture of a FootballTrivia Question

What is the Pinstripe Bowl?

Trivia Question Answer

Officially the New Era Pinstripe Bowl, the Pinstripe Bowl is an NCAA Division I FBS college football bowl game held anually in Yankee Stadium in New York City. The game, organized by the New York Yankees, was first played in 2010. The winner is awarded the George M. Steinbrenner Trophy.

Most Sacks in an NFL Season

Picture of a FootballTrivia Question

Who holds the NFL record for the most sacks in season?

Trivia Question Answer

To date, the record for the most sacks in an NFL season was compiled by Michael Strahan of the N.Y. Giants. In 2001 he had 22.5 sacks. Number 2 on the list with 22 are Mark Gastineau of the N.Y. Jets (1984), Jared Allen of the Minnesota Vikings (2011) and Justin Houston of the Kansas City Chiefs (2014).

Joe DiMaggio Birthday

Trivia Question

When was baseball great Joe DiMaggio born?Picture of a Baseball

Trivia Question Answer

Joe DiMaggio, “Joltin’ Joe” or “The Yankee Clipper”, was born on November 25, 1914 in Martinez, California.

Boston Celtics MVP Award Winners

Picture of a BasketballTrivia Question

Name all of the Boston Celtics players who have won the NBA’s Most Valuable Player (MVP) award?

Trivia Question Answer

The NBA’s MVP award was first awarded in 1956. Since then 4 Celtics players have won the MVP award 10 times. They are:

  • 1957 – Bob Cousy
  • 1958 – Bill Russell
  • 1961 – Bill Russell
  • 1962 – Bill Russell
  • 1963 – Bill Russell
  • 1965 – Bill Russell
  • 1973 – Dave Cowens
  • 1984 – Larry Bird
  • 1985 – Larry Bird
  • 1986 – Larry Bird

The Newport Bermuda Race

Picture of a Sail BoatTrivia Question

What is the Newport Bermuda Race?

Trivia Question Answer

The Newport Bermuda Race, also frequently referred to as the Bermuda Race, is a biennial sailing yacht race. It is held every other year on even number years and covers a 635 nautical miles (1175 km) course from Newport, Rhode Island to Bermuda. It was first held in 1906.