Daily Archives: September 18, 2014

First Back-to-Back NCAA Women’s Division I Hockey Champions

Picture of a Hockey PuckTrivia Question

What school was the first to win back-to-back NCAA women’s Division I hockey championships?

Trivia Question Answer



The first NCAA Division I women’s hockey championship happened in 2001. It was won by Minnesota Duluth. They became the first school to win back-to-back championships when they won it all again in 2002. They became the first team to win 3 in-a-row when they won again in 2003. They are, to date (2014), the only school to win 3 in-a-row. In fact, of the 14 NCAA Division I women’s hockey champions through 2014, Minnesota Duluth has won the hockey championship five times.