Daily Archives: November 10, 2015

First to Win Selke Trophy

Picture of a Hockey PuckTrivia Question

What is the Selke Trophy and who was the first individual to win the award?

Trivia Question Answer

Officially the Frank J. Selke Trophy, the trophy is awarded every year to the National Hockey League (NHL) forward deemed to be the best in the defensive aspects of the game. It was first awarded in 1977/1978 season. The first winner was Bob Gainey, who was also the second, third, and fourth winner. To date, his 4 wins are the most by any NHL player.