Daily Archives: July 27, 2017

First MLB Beacon Award Winners

Picture of a BaseballTrivia Question

Who were the first winners of Major League Baseball’s Beacon Award?

Trivia Question Answer

The Beacon Award was first awarded in 2007, in conjunction with MLB’s first annual preseason Civil Rights Game in Memphis, TN. “The award honors people’s contributions to civil rights and reflects their historical ties to baseball” (Source: MLB). The 2007 winners were:

  • Buck O’Neil (1911-2006), a player (1st baseman for the Negro leagues), manager (Negro leagues), scout (Kansas City Royals), the first black coach in the major leagues (Cubs in 1962), and tireless baseball ambassador
  • Filmmaker Spike Lee
  • Vera Clemente, the widow of Hall of Fame right fielder Roberto Clemente